stephanie jones

I’m tired.

In classism, justice, racism, sexism on February 26, 2008 at 3:02 am

Perhaps we all have days like this, I don’t know. But I’m feeling weary. Wondering what the hell  another article will do. Or another presentation. Or another book. Or another convention. Wondering what difference even another class session will make.

Is it too much to ask that people treat one another with basic respect and dignity? I don’t understand how we’ve gotten here, to this horrible place where racism, classism, sexism, heterosexism, and every other -ism is so rampant, so hurtful, so damaging.

I’m tired.

  1. Stephanie,

    I get tired of the world of the university sometimes, and I only have one foot in the door.

    You and your work does make a difference, a huge difference to people like myself. There are not many people who take the risks you do and put themselves and their beliefs on the line. I don’t know why there are so many isms out there either. Maybe it’s that the world works when people are afraid or in direct competition with their fellow people that leads to this behavior.

    I hope you take some time for yourself soon.

    take good care,
    Lori

  2. Thanks Lori. Sometimes it feels like I’m running on a hamster wheel. If the wheel was connected to something larger (for metaphor’s sake, let’s say that running on the wheel actually generates electricity that can be used by people across a large area), I would be happy to run on that wheel until the end of time. I’m just having a hard time right now seeing the spinning of the wheel generating anything real.

    I do think this notion of direct competition is important, though. Dear ol’ Karl Marx might say “of course there is deep hatred, discrimination, and oppression among all groups – this is the way of capitalism. ”

    This, by the way, leads me to another line of thinking I’ve been consumed with recently, so I’ll take the time to make a new post about it.

    I hope you’re doing great up there in the city;)

    best,
    stephanie

  3. i have days like this, too! we all do, don’t we? but it is days when i am asked to give a recommendation for talented pre-service teacher, or when I see a pre-service teacher confront sexist and homophobic speech in classroom, or when i see instances of people standing up for others, that i am renewed. i for one have benefited from reading your work, and i have had students read some in our literacy acquisition class. further, we have to consider that one reason we can become so exasperated by all those -isms you mention is because we have read articles and research such as yours that helps us name and recognize these unpleasant situations. we know that things can’t change over night, but surely it starts with awareness. the more aware we are, perhaps the more frightening things become, and all more weary at the recognition of so much injustice. even so, the work is so important : )

  4. Thanks Treavor! And of course you’re absolutely right, it’s just so hard to see a light at the end of the long, dark, pot-holed, booby-trapped tunnel.

    I love your blog and hope some of my readers will find their way to your site soon…

    visit again soon!
    s

  5. Steph, you didn’t pick this job because it was easy- you picked it because it was right for you and your family. And I for one, am so glad you did as you are so good at it. Moving from teaching elementary students to the adult learning community, as you did, gives more opportunity for greater affect. You are the ultimate teacher’s teacher, and so glad you are out there- down there! At times, our best hope is to be a drip on the rock! Keep on flowing! c.

Leave a Reply

