stephanie jones

Outsourcing

In politics, satire as critical literacy, Uncategorized on November 1, 2007 at 9:50 pm

We can laugh at this satirical commentary on the burden of long work days, the cost of day care, and the potential for outsourcing child care to countries like India. Of course, I know all too well the student who sat in my office yesterday afternoon and told me that his father’s assembly line job disappeared after 23 years (along with the pension he would have earned in two more). When I think of real people pushed to the limit, this comedy begins to have teeth that bite back, and I’m reminded of Jonathan’s Swift’s A Modest Proposal. How can these satirical texts help us critically analyze policies that affect our loved ones? Watch the clip from The Onion.

  1. I love this Karen! So funny and yet not so far from reality, no? Which makes it, of course, extremely depressing and reason for working toward change…

  2. Jonathan Swift said, “”Satire is a sort of glass, wherein beholders do generally discover everybody’s face but their own.” Once we open up spaces in the classroom where students are given the tools to look at the way satire is created, including verisimilitude, then we can turn the mirror back onto ourselves (students and teachers). Here are some possible topics stemming from a conversation I had with my fabulous colleague Lisa Scherff:
    1. Hanging out at the mall
    2. Going to the Friday night football game
    3. Eating dinner with the family
    4. Completing volunteer hours required by the school
    5. Video gaming culture
    6. Sports team mania
    7. Instant messaging/texting/facebooking/myspacing
    8. School personae
    9. Consumerism
    10.Detention
    11. Class privilege, or NOT
    12. Race relations
    13. School cafeteria
    14. Abercrombie & Fitch
    15. Following policies that end up affirming the status quo

  3. I love the Onion. I find that humor helps me deal with so many situations in which I could despair.

    Today I bought my son a free trade, sweatshop free soccer ball, emblazoned with a globe and the word RESPECT.

    There is a phenomenon called greenwashing that I heard about today. Businesses misleading consumers regarding the environmental practices of a company or the benefits for the environment. Even experts are sometimes hardpressed to figure out labels on products and what they really mean.
    ~lori

Leave a Reply

