stephanie jones

book on Class wins AESA critics’ choice award!

In classism, critical literacy, family-school relations, great books, high school, language, mothers, poverty, professional development resources, publications, social action, social class, stephanie jones, teacher education resources on October 19, 2007 at 12:20 pm

Kudos to Jane Van Galen and George Noblit, the editors of this fabulous book on social class and education.

  1. Hi Stephanie,

    Congrats on your blog! IT IS WONDERFUL. I feel like I’m in one of your office hours again.

    Hope you’re well.

    Best,
    Lori

  2. Hi Lori,

    It’s so great to hear from you! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog, and I hope that you will share some of your work and/or ideas on here as well…readers would love to hear from you too.

    I haven’t yet set up regular office hours at UGA, but I’m looking forward to doing that in the spring just so I can count on students coming by and having interesting conversations like I did at TC. I miss those times of deep engagement with you and others who always brought perspectives and projects that made me excited about the possibilities of research and practice.

    I’m doing really well in Georgia, thank you for asking;)

    cheers,
    stephanie

  3. Stephanie,

    Thanks, Grace just told me about what a wonderful time she had with you all at NRC.

    Lately, one of the most pressing concerns has to do with the everyday language and literacy practices that I have at home, particularly with my son. I have begun a personal blog documenting our home life so that we will have record of the happenings in our immediate surroundings.

    Also, I was remembering what mattered most to my mom who worked in schools for so long. She talked about the disparity between schools and how you don’t really understand it unless you lived and worked in them. I do think there is much less educating and much more surveillance happening in all the schools than is good for us. She also had such a fierce sympathy for families and teachers having been both a single mom and teacher, sometimes both, at times.

    I can’t wait to get a copy of this book to check out.

    Best,
    Lori

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

